Sci-Fi wrap up

What’s next?

Sci-Fi month has come to an end. A big thank you to our two lovely hosts, Lisa and Imyril both had a massive job on their hands and they nailed it.
I said at the start of November that reading more Sci-Fi was one of my goals this year and I think it’s safe to say I’ve done way better than I expected. Throughout November I managed to smash out a series that I’ve had on my shelves for years and another couple from NetGalley. I realised that there is so much more to the Sci-Fi genre than spaceships and other worlds. The books I read really focused on the human side of things and explored what it meant to be human. I love character driven books so I consider it a very successful month overall. I won’t lie, I did get completely sidetracked by a new fantasy release in the last week and didn’t finish the last book I was reading.

I read and reviewed
Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
– The Quiet At The End Of The World by Lauren James
– Refraction by Naomi Hughes

Read, no review
– The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi
– The Last Colony by John Scalzi
– Snapshot by Brandon Sanderson
– Three Days Till Dawn by R.F. Hurteau
– Shadow City by Anna Mocikat

Currently reading
– Skycircus by Peter Bunzl Skycircus by Peter Bunzl

It was a very successful reading month.

Other posts from this month – Music MondayMusic MondayTop Ten TuesdayWWW WednesdayMusic MondayStacking The Shelves.


And now we are in December, I was hoping to spend this month catching up on NetGalley books, but I’ve missed reading all the wonderful self-published fantasy out there, so I’m going to finish the brand new kickass book by Timandra Whitecastle Queens of the Wyrd by Timandra Whitecastle (shieldmaidens? Yes please) and then I’m going to get a start on the finalists from SPFBO. Seeing all the hype as the finalists have been announced has got me ready to follow along from home. See how my thoughts stack up against the lucky bloggers who get to make the big decisions. It should be fun. I’ve read two already, my review for Never Die by Rob J. Hayes is HERE, and I’ve got four more on my kindle. Maybe I can miraculously get through all ten.

Also I want to get to Kameron Hurley’s The Mirror Empire by Kameron HurleyThe Worldbreaker saga asap.

Ok it seems I’m going to need some extra time to read. Please send help, maybe a chef and a cleaner. No time for housework.

On a side note, my blog turned two this week. I’m grateful to have this little space where I can let my book obsessed flag fly. Thank you to all the kickass people that make it fun.

6 thoughts on “Sci-Fi wrap up”

Leave a comment