Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

A mini review

I tend to avoid psychological thrillers that are compared to Gone Girl because I loved that book and I think that type of comparison gives you a real sense of the way the story is going to go, taking away the fun of discovering twists and turns on your own.
For me it means I’m constantly looking for the twist instead of just enjoying the story. I didn’t realise when I selected this from NetGalley that above the blurb it says this –
For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.
Honestly, I’m a picky bitch so that would have been enough for me to not request the book.
Well I’m glad I didn’t see the comparison because I enjoyed the book.

IMG_4782Synopsis –
They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them… They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste..
Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.
Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.

If you don’t like unlikable main characters than this book may not be for you. I don’t think any of the characters in this book have redeeming qualities.
Louise is a chameleon, she has the ability to change herself to be what those around her want. She does whatever it takes to fit in and maybe she is a little off kilter.

‘Men thought she was special. They did this you understand, because they were stupid. They didn’t notice Louise. It was just that Louise looked blonde and thin and pretty, and they were dumb enough to think that all those things were true of her, and not just qualities she wore. And so they were dumb enough to think that her other qualities (she was so chill, she was so clever, she was so open-minded in bed) were real, too.’

Lavinia is the ultimate party girl. People flock to her, she is the life of the party. She is extravagant, generous, gorgeous and fun. Girls want to be like her and guys want to bed her. So when Louise is swept up into Lavinia’s world she will do everything she can to stay there. As the girls party their way around New York, we delve into toxic relationships, the lengths people will go to just to look like they are popular and have it all, meanwhile their actual relationships are shallow, nothing more than snide comments and likes on Instagram.

The tone throughout the book was brilliant. It never wavered, whether describing an adventure, feelings or cutting up someone’s body, it was always the same matter of fact, droll voice. It took a little to get used to, but it really worked for the plot. The story flowed well and while it was somewhat predictable, it was a good read.

I received an arc from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Social Creature
Author: Tara Isabelle Burton
Release Date: 5th June 2018
Publisher: Doubleday

Get your own copy now – AmazonBook Depository

2 thoughts on “Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: